Meditation Maaaahn

meditation

In my last year of school I, like everyone else, had a certain amount of breakdowns. HOWEVER I did get my self together and despite getting glandular fever and having to do my exams at home… I did get there in the end. One major way that I coped with the stresses of 12 exams in 10 days (not joking) was by doing a super quick meditation every day at my desk before I started studying. Meditation is a practice that teaches the mind to promote relaxation, build internal energy or life force and develop compassion, love, patience, generosity and forgiveness. But most importantly it simply makes you feel amazing after 15 minutes of doing absolutely nothing. There are so many benefits of meditation including stress relief, anxiety relief, sleep aid and a general feeling of self enlightenment and it is SO EASY – all you need is an iPhone app. A quote that I  always remember is that “Everyone should meditate once a day… those who don’t have time to meditate should meditate three times a day” My favourite app is called buddhify and its $1.99 from the app store or from https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/buddhify-2/id687421118?ls=1&mt=8

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 5.17.01 pm Another one is smiling mind which is FREE from the app store or http://smilingmind.com.au: Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 5.19.10 pm If you don’t have an iPhone or other Apple device there are SO many videos on youtube out there to help you get started meditating. One of my favourite channels is Yuttadhammo Bhikhu’s – a buddhist monk who has over 200 meditating videos. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLvU7ppM4vE I’ve finished school now and I currently, and will continue to, do meditation every day! Its so refreshing and there are studies that have been done to prove that it ACTUALLY MAKES YOU A BETTER PERSON. Leave a comment if you have any good meditating advice/experiences that you want to share! Bye now.

Leave a Reply

